Page 1 of 1

V.League History

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:29 am
by admin
The V-League 1, as it is known today, dates back to 1980 when the first semi-professional league was launched (then known as the All Vietnam Football Championship). Seventeen clubs participated in the competition which was split into three groups and conducted more like a cup competition, with the winner from each group qualifying for the Championship Stage. Công An Hà Nội, Tổng Cục Đường Sắt and Hải Quan were the three teams to qualify, with Tổng Cục Đường Sắt ultimately taking the title. That format, although the teams were split into two groups, continued until 1995 when the league reverted to a more traditional league format

2000–02: Strata Sport Marketing (Strata V-League)
2003: PepsiCo (Sting V-League)
2004: Kinh Đô (Kinh Đô V-League)
2005: Tan Hiep Phat (Number One V-League)
2006: Eurowindow (Eurowindow V-League)
2007–10: Petro Vietnam Gas (Petro Vietnam Gas V-League)
2011–14: Eximbank (Eximbank V.League 1)
2015-now: Toyota (Toyota V.League 1)